Library Help Desk
This is the "Home" page of the "Resources In Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.umobile.edu/resourcesineducation Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Citing Sources

An important part of research is creating proper footnotes, endnotes and bibliographies.

These resources and guides will assist you in using one of the citation styles to build your citations.

Eric Service Notice

August 23, 2012

ERIC full-text documents are not currently available through the ERIC database.  The Department of Education, which manages ERIC, has temporarily disabled the full-text ERIC documents due to a security issue.  We are unsure at this time when they will be available. This is a National Service Issue, not specific to UM.

Articles cited in ERIC are available full text from other databases.  If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a library staff member.  Also, if you're having trouble obtaining a full text article please ask a librarian rather than assuming we do not have access to the article.

We will update this box as soon as soon as we're notified full text availability resumes.

 

UPDATE (6-25-13) 

Eric is still sorting its service outtage issue. In late summer 2012, ERIC announced that most full-text PDFs in the ERIC collection had been temporarily restricted due to privacy issues found in some of these materials. A team is in place to review the affected full text and restore cleared PDFs to the online collection.

To help users gain access to the full text they need, ERIC has added a form to the website at eric.ed.gov that can be used to request the return of a specific PDF to the online collection.


To request a PDF, access the
PDF request form online and enter the ERIC Number of the document (e.g., ED998998) and your email address; then click Submit. Your request will be forwarded for priority processing so the full text can be checked for sensitive information. Once cleared, the document will be made accessible online. Given the volume of requests, this process can require several weeks.  

The request form can be accessed from a link in the alert area of the ERIC Home page, from the web page banner alert present on most pages of the ERIC website, or from the Contact Us area of the site.


What Full Text is Available?
As of December 1, 2012, more than 27,000 full-text materials have been returned online. User-requested PDFs are being restored on a weekly basis. Currently available materials include:

 

  • Peer-reviewed documents and journal articles for which ERIC has permission to display full text.
  • Documents developed by the Peace Corps and ERIC.
  • Cleared documents that have been requested by the ERIC user community.
 

Here is the offiial statement from ERIC regarding the service outtage.

Selected Recommended Databases in Education

Here are some recommended databases for this subject.  You can find many more in the 'Find Articles' section.

  • ERIC (EBSCO)  
      
    ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
  • JSTOR
    With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic backfile content.
    UM access includes access to Language and Literature as well as Arts and Sciences II, III and VII. There is multi-disciplinary coverage.
  • Professional Collection (Gale)  
      
    A collection of educational journals picked for their relevance in the modern world for today's professional.
  • ProQuest Education Journals  
      
    A collection of the leading full-text journals in education and related fields.

  Recommended General Databases

Here you will find general research databases that will help you get started on your research.  Use a specialized databases above or in the "Find Articles" section for more in-depth research.

  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
  • Academic OneFile (Gale)  
      
    The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Ebsco on the go...via iPhone / iTouch

Do you have an iPhone or Ipod Touch? Like your Ebsco on the go? Then, install the New Ebsco iPhone/iTouch app next time you're searching there (find it at the bottom of any Ebsco screen) and access UM Ebsco subscriptions directly from your mobile device!

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip