Last Updated: Dec 14, 2016
An important part of research is creating proper footnotes, endnotes and bibliographies.
These resources and guides will assist you in using one of the citation styles to build your citations.
Here are some recommended databases for this subject. You can find many more in the 'Find Articles' section.
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
A complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry. This combination of products, covering different aspects of business information, covers scholarly research, businesses traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information.
A free database that includes industry statistics and financial ratios.
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Provides information on companies, industries, statistical data and in-depth analysis involving the business research community.
- Demographics (Mergent Intellect)
Includes the latest census data by zip code, MSA, or industry. Available through Mergent Intellect, scroll down for a link to the database.
- First Research (Mergent Intellect)
Provides access to over 500 industry profiles covering 1,000 industry segments. Available through Mergent Intellect, scroll down for a link to the database, enter your email address and click on submit to access the database.
- Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)
Profiles of more than 40,000 companies and 600 industries.
- Hoover's Online (Mergent Intellect)
In-depth profiles of approximately 15,000 public and private companies in the U.S. and the world, plus information on initial public offerings, industry snapshots, and business news. Available through Mergent Intellect, the default search box is thesaurus.
With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic backfile content.
UM access includes access to Language and Literature as well as Arts and Sciences I, II, III and VII. There is multi-disciplinary coverage.
- Key Business Ratios (Mergent Intellect)
Provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data in North America. Available through Mergent Intellect, scroll down for a link to the database.
- Wall Street Journal
Full Text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
Here you will find general research databases that will help you get started on your research. Use a specialized databases above or in the "Find Articles" section for more in-depth research.
- Academic Search Premier
This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Mergent Intellect is our new suite of business databases including Hoovers, First Research, Key Business Ratios and Demographics. Be sure to check these new databases out as you work on spring semester assignments.
Let us help you with your Research! You can reach our Public Services Staff at 251.442.2246 or toll free 1.800.946.7267 during library hours or you can email us at UMlibrary@umobile.edu