Connecting to Library Sources from off campus
Many library resources are limited to UM faculty, students and staff. To access e-resources from off-campus, logon to our library homepage. Remember if you need to access your Library Account your pin number is a pre-set 4-digit repeated number. Please contact us if your pin isn't functioning.
UM Libraries Policies
At the J.L. Bedsole Library we are here for you 24/7 via library.umobile.edu. Here you can find full text access to e-books, e-journals and databases.
All of the library's e-sources are authenticated through your student account. Your library account password is pre-set and should not be changed so that we can help you troubleshoot.
If you experience any issues in accessing library pages remotely, please contact us.
Finding sources using remote library access
Here you will find some links for helpful shortcuts and information you need to know in using the libary's electronic and physical collections.
- Search the Library Catalog
- Search the Library's Ebook Collection
- Know Public Services Information and Circulation Policies
- Renew Materials / View Account Online
Depending on your topic and depth of research, you may find you need to utilize items beyond the library's physical collection. You may use Worldcat to locate books and other items worldwide, or you may use a database search to find articles not available full text or in the library's physical serials collection. Again, once you have a complete citation for the items you want, simply use our Interlibrary Loan Service to request your items if UM library doesn't own them physically or via e-access.
Why not just use Wikipedia?
Did you know?
The University of Mobile uses Rave Alert for emergency notifications to students, faculty and staff. A Rave account has automatically been set up for you if you are currently enrolled or employed by UM.
Within your Rave account, you may choose to receive UMobile emergency communications via text message, email or recorded voice messages. The alerts will also post on multiple UMobile Facebook pages and Twitter accounts. Also, parents can sign up for Rave notifications by visiting www.getrave.com/login/umobile.
Log onto MYUM to access your personal account int he Rave emergency notification system. You can find information on the Campus Alert System Sign Up under the Campus Life tab.