Last Updated: Aug 7, 2014
Did you know that many of our stand alone e-book collections have books available to download to your device? Check out the link below:
Call or visit the Public Services Desk (during Library Hours) for research assistance and assistance with book returns or renewal. You can also use self-serve renew by clicking here and accessing your account from our library homepage.
Location: Second floor of J.L. Bedsole Library building.
You can also reach us by phone: (251) 442-2246 or toll free 1-800-946-7267 during our regular library hours.
Individuals are widely responsible for not only finding the images, used in their published works but also for securing copyright permission to use them. Here are some helpful sites with information about copyright.
- EBSCO E-Book Collection
University of Mobile's multi-disciplinary collection of electronic books. These titles are also accessible through the library's online catalog.
- Ebrary Academic Complete E-Book Collection
A collection of over 79,000 ebook titles covering all academic subject areas. These titles are also accessible through the library's online catalog.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series I
Contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Titles cover a wide range of areas since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series II
Consists of titles published from 1894 through 1923. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions. It presents a comprehensive picture of American life at the time.
- Ovid Nursing Collection
A collection of 318 titles in nursing, medicine and health related fields. These titles are also accessible through the library's online catalog.
- Rittenhouse (R2) Nursing Collection
A collection of 80 core titles in nursing, medicine and health related fields. These titles are also accessible through the library's online catalog.
- Infobase E-Books
A collection of over 500 literary criticisms.
- Project Gutenberg
First and largest collection of free electronic books.
- Humanities Text Initiative
Online access to full-text resources in the humanities.
- Read Print
Free books for students, teachers, and the classic enthusiast.
- National Academies Press
Free books and reports from the NAP.
- Online Books Page
Index of thousands of online books freely readable on the Internet.
Reference works, books of poetry, fiction and non-fiction works.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Classic Christian books.
- Religion Online
Full texts by recognized religious scholars.
Free access to medical books.
- NCBI Bookshelf
Collection of biomedical books.
- Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome and early modern English literature.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, formerly eScholarship Editions
Books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
- Library of Southern Literature
Literary works of the American South published before 1924.
- Country Studies
Electronic versions of hard-cover books published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress between 1988 and 1998.
- Read Central
What is ReadCentral all about?
ReadCentral is a vast online library of novels, dramas, poems, short stories, essays and non-fiction books written not only in English but in several other languages. From fairy tales and sci-fi, to comedy and philosophy, ReadCentral has a database that has something for all kinds of readers across all age-groups.
Also, each book has been adapted for ease of the reading on mobile phones. Simply navigate to http://readcentral.com/mobile/ to view the mobile version of all the books. If you are browsing ReadCentral through a mobile device, you will automatically be routed to the mobile version of each book.
- Vatican Library
The Vatican Library was founded in 1451 AD and holds over 80,000 manuscripts, prints, drawings, plates and incunabula (books printed prior to 1500 AD) written throughout history by people of different faiths from across the world.